Halocard vs US Unlocked

Halocard is the better US Unlocked alternative for most people, and the only one of the two that US residents can use. Halocard is a US-issued Visa credit card for customers in the US and 120+ countries, with a separate card for each merchant, a billing address you choose on every card, and Apple Pay and Google Pay for paying in person. US Unlocked is a narrower fit: virtual Visa cards with a US billing address for people who live outside the US, with a fee on every load, a $3,000 balance cap and no physical card. It is rated 1.9/5 on Trustpilot, where recent reviewers report cards declined at the US stores they signed up for.

Halocard pros and cons

  • Pros: A US-issued Visa credit card that works like a debit card
  • Pros: A separate card for each merchant, with limits you control
  • Pros: Any billing address you choose, on each card
  • Pros: Apple Pay and Google Pay, plus a physical card for paying in person
  • Pros: Fund by debit/credit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, bank transfer, stablecoins, or crypto
  • Pros: US residents and residents of 120+ countries
  • Cons: No free plan, though Essential is free with 3 referrals
  • Cons: A minimum first deposit to activate your account

US Unlocked pros and cons

  • Pros: Low $4.95 monthly fee
  • Pros: No credit check
  • Pros: A US billing address on every card
  • Pros: Store-locked and one-time cards
  • Cons: Not open to US residents
  • Cons: A fee on every load, up to 5% + $1
  • Cons: Reviewers report declines at US merchants
  • Cons: Balance capped at $3,000
  • Cons: No physical card or bank account
  • Cons: Support by email and contact form only

Halocard vs US Unlocked compared

Five differences account for most of the gap: who can sign up, how each card is treated at checkout, how many cards you get, what it costs to move money on and off them, and whether you can pay in person. Halocard is a US-issued Visa credit card for customers in the US and 120+ countries; US Unlocked issues virtual cards for paying US websites from abroad.

Eligibility

HalocardAdvantage: US residents and residents of 120+ countriesUS UnlockedPeople outside the US only
US residentsHalocardYesUS UnlockedNot supported
Customers outside the USHalocard120+ countriesUS UnlockedMost countries
Credit checkHalocardNoneUS UnlockedNone
Identity checkHalocardPassport or national ID, under 3 minutesUS UnlockedPhoto ID, and proof of address if asked

Halocard is a US-issued Visa credit card for customers in the US and 120+ countries. Outside the US? You don't need an SSN, a US address or a US bank account. US Unlocked is exclusively for people who live outside the US: its FAQ says US residents can't use it. It relaunched in July 2025, by invitation at first, and has been open to new sign-ups since October 2025; which load methods you get depends on your country. See supported countries

Card type

HalocardAdvantage: US-issued Visa credit cardUS UnlockedVirtual Visa card you load in advance
Card networkHalocardVisaUS UnlockedVisa
Cards per accountHalocard3 to 60, by planUS Unlocked1 included, up to 10
Merchants that refuse prepaid cardsHalocardNot affectedUS UnlockedDeclines possible, by its terms
Merchants outside the USHalocardWherever Visa is acceptedUS UnlockedNot reliable, by its FAQ
3D Secure codesHalocardYesUS UnlockedYes

US Unlocked's cards spend a balance you load in advance, and its own documents disagree on what they are: its cardholder agreement describes a credit card at 0% interest, its terms of service a prepaid or credit card, and its blog says they should not be described as a traditional credit card. Its terms add that it isn't responsible when a merchant that doesn't accept prepaid or virtual cards declines one. Halocard works like a debit card: you spend the balance you load, with no credit line and no credit check, but merchants see a Visa credit card, which clears the checks many SaaS platforms, AI services and ad accounts run against prepaid cards. Check merchant acceptance

Billing address

HalocardAdvantage: Any address you choose, on each cardUS UnlockedA US address only
US billing addressHalocardYesUS UnlockedYes
Address outside the USHalocardYesUS UnlockedNot supported
Custom cardholder nameHalocardYesUS UnlockedUnknown
VPN recommended by the providerHalocardNoUS UnlockedYes

Every Halocard can carry a billing address you nominate, in the US or anywhere in the world, and a cardholder name you choose, which is what US-only checkouts verify. Every US Unlocked card carries a US billing address: the one shown in your dashboard, or a US residential or freight forwarder address of your own. Its VPN page recommends connecting through a VPN whenever you pay on a US website. Set a card's name and address

Funding

HalocardAdvantage: Card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Bank Transfer, Stablecoins & CryptoUS UnlockedCrypto, card or bank transfer, by country
Bank transferHalocardUSD, CAD, EUR or GBPUS UnlockedSEPA or UK Faster Payments, 2% + $2 a load
Debit or credit cardHalocardVisa, MastercardUS UnlockedYes, 5% + $1 a load
Digital walletsHalocardApple Pay and Google PayUS UnlockedApple Pay and Google Pay, 5% + $1 a load
StablecoinsHalocardUSDC, USDTUS UnlockedYes, 2% a load
CryptoHalocardBTC, ETH, SOLUS UnlockedYes, 2% a load
Balance limitHalocardSpend up to $1M a dayUS Unlocked$3,000 a load, and in total
Withdraw your balanceHalocardYesUS UnlockedOn request, for a $10 fee

Halocard keeps one balance you top up by debit/credit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, bank transfer, stablecoins, or crypto. Halocard balances can be withdrawn to a supported withdrawal method. US Unlocked loads cost 2% by crypto or stablecoins, 2% + $2 by SEPA or UK Faster Payments, and 5% + $1 by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, so loading $100 by card costs $6.00. Which methods you can use depends on your country, a single load and your total balance are capped at $3,000, and its terms say load fees aren't refunded. See how to deposit

USD bank account

HalocardAdvantage: Your own US account and routing numberUS UnlockedNone
Your own account and routing numberHalocardYesUS UnlockedNot supported
Receive ACH transfersHalocard1 to 3 business daysUS UnlockedNot supported
Receive same-day ACHHalocardYesUS UnlockedNot supported
Receive domestic wiresHalocardThe same dayUS UnlockedNot supported
Send ACH and wire transfersHalocardYesUS UnlockedNot supported

Halocard includes a US bank account with its own account and routing numbers, so you can receive salary, transfers from friends and family, and any other payment you'd send to a US checking account. ACH transfers arrive in 1 to 3 business days and domestic wires the same day, straight into your Halocard balance and ready to spend. US Unlocked is a card balance with no bank account behind it: it gives you no account or routing number, so nobody can pay you by ACH or wire. Send and receive USD payments

In-person payments

HalocardAdvantage: Physical card, plus Apple Pay and Google PayUS UnlockedNo physical card
Physical cardHalocardFree with any annual plan or $100 on a monthly planUS UnlockedNot supported
Apple Pay and Google PayHalocardEvery cardUS UnlockedYes, by its launch announcement
MerchantsHalocard175M+ wherever Visa is acceptedUS UnlockedUS online merchants

Every Halocard can go in Apple Pay and Google Pay for tap-to-pay anywhere Visa is accepted, and you can add a physical card, free with any annual plan or $100 on a monthly plan. US Unlocked's cards are virtual only. Its October 2025 launch announcement says they work with Apple Pay and Google Pay, while its FAQ says the cards are designed for US online shopping and aren't reliable on sites outside the US. Set up Apple Pay and Google Pay

Controls

HalocardAdvantage: Daily, weekly or monthly limits on each cardUS UnlockedSpending limits, store-locked and one-time cards
Per-card spending limitsHalocardDaily, weekly or monthlyUS UnlockedPer charge, month or year
Lock or cancel a cardHalocardInstantUS UnlockedDeactivate and replace
Single-use cardsHalocardAnnual plans, from 2 a monthUS Unlocked$2 each
Merchant-locked cardsHalocardNot supportedUS UnlockedStore Locked Cards
A separate card per merchantHalocardYesUS UnlockedUp to 10 cards

US Unlocked covers the basics: you can set a spending limit on a card, lock a Store Locked Card to its first merchant, and buy a One-Time Use Card for $2. An account holds up to 10 cards, and each one after the first costs $1 a month. Halocard lets you set daily, weekly or monthly limits on each card, lock or cancel any card instantly, and choose the billing address and cardholder name on each card, with 3 to 60 cards included in your plan. See card spending limits

Pricing

HalocardAdvantage: From $12 a month, with 3 cardsUS Unlocked$4.95 a month with 1 card, plus load fees
Monthly feeHalocardFrom $12US Unlocked$4.95
Paid yearlyHalocardAdds disposable and physical cardsUS Unlocked$39.95 a year
Cards includedHalocard3 to 60, by planUS Unlocked1; extras $1 a month each
Load feesHalocardListed on the pricing pageUS Unlocked2% to 5% + $1
Purchases in USDHalocardNo feeUS UnlockedNo fee
Purchases in other currenciesHalocard1.5% + $0.30US Unlocked3%

US Unlocked has the lower monthly fee, and for one small purchase a month it can work out cheaper. Its other charges change the picture: loading $100 by card costs $6.00 each time, every card after the first is $1 a month, purchases in other currencies cost 3%, and taking your balance back out costs $10. A lower price also doesn't help if the card is declined where you wanted to use it. Halocard plans are $12, $15 and $75 a month with no fee on US-dollar purchases, and Essential is free with 3 referrals. See all Halocard fees

Support

HalocardAdvantage: Chat, email, and phone on every planUS UnlockedEmail and a contact form
ChatHalocardYesUS UnlockedNot supported
EmailHalocardYesUS UnlockedYes, on weekdays
PhoneHalocardYesUS UnlockedNot supported

Halocard answers by chat, email, and phone on every plan. US Unlocked's FAQ lists email and a contact form, answered on weekdays from 9 AM to 6 PM Eastern, and recent reviewers describe messages that got no reply. Visit the help centre

Trust and transparency

HalocardAdvantage: A regulated US company and card issuerUS UnlockedA named US company; licence and bank not disclosed
Company and countryHalocardHalocard LLC, USAUS UnlockedTern Commerce, Inc. (US Unlocked), USA
Registration or licenceHalocardFintech, not a bank. Registered MSB with FinCENUS UnlockedNot disclosed
Card issuerHalocardThird NationalUS UnlockedThird National
Account held atHalocardSSB, Member FDICUS UnlockedNot disclosed
Founders namedHalocardEdward TaylorUS UnlockedBrion Bonkowski, CEO of its parent
FoundedHalocard2024US Unlocked2010
TrustpilotHalocard4.2/5 (11 reviews)US Unlocked1.9/5 (114 reviews)

US Unlocked is run by Tern Commerce, Inc. and has operated since 2010, but its pages state no licence or registration, name its card issuer only as "Third National", and don't say where customer balances are held. Its 1.9/5 rating from 114 reviews is dominated by declined cards and unanswered support requests. Halocard names its company, card issuer, account bank and founder. About Halocard

Why Halocard is the better US Unlocked alternative

A credit card US merchants accept

The most consequential difference is what happens at checkout. US Unlocked's own terms say it isn't responsible when a merchant that doesn't accept prepaid or virtual cards declines one, and recent reviewers describe loading money and then finding no store that would take the card. Halocard is a US-issued Visa credit card, which clears a broader range of merchant and platform checks.

Open to US residents too

US Unlocked is exclusively for people who live outside the US. Halocard is a US-issued Visa credit card for customers in the US and 120+ countries. Outside the US? You don't need an SSN, a US address or a US bank account.

More cards, included in your plan

US Unlocked includes one card and charges $1 a month for each extra, up to 10. Halocard plans include 3 to 60 cards, each with its own limit and its own lock, so cancelling one subscription never touches the rest.

Pay in person as well as online

Every Halocard goes in Apple Pay and Google Pay, and you can add a physical card, free with any annual plan or $100 on a monthly plan. US Unlocked's cards are virtual only and, by its own FAQ, designed for US online shopping.

Human support on every plan

Reach a real person by chat, email, and phone on every plan. US Unlocked's FAQ lists email and a contact form, on weekdays.

Key drawbacks of US Unlocked

Declined at US merchants

Recent Trustpilot reviewers describe loading funds and then finding that no US store or streaming service would accept the card. US Unlocked's terms say such declines don't entitle you to a refund of subscription, load or card fees.

A fee on every load

Every load costs 2% by crypto or stablecoins, 2% + $2 by SEPA or UK Faster Payments, and 5% + $1 by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, and its terms say load fees aren't refunded. Taking your balance back out costs $10.

Not open to US residents

US Unlocked's FAQ says it is exclusively for people who live outside the US, and the load methods on offer depend on your country.

A $3,000 cap and 10 cards

A single load and your total balance are capped at $3,000, and an account holds up to 10 cards, with a $1 monthly fee for each one after the first.

Read our US Unlocked review

About Halocard

Halocard is a US-issued Visa credit card for customers in the US and 120+ countries, with a separate virtual card for each merchant you pay. Halocard works like a debit card: you spend the balance you load, with no credit line and no credit check. It is built for online shopping, subscriptions, AI tools, advertising and everyday payments, and cards work at more than 175M merchants, online and in person through Apple Pay and Google Pay.

Create cards in seconds from a web browser, set daily, weekly or monthly limits on each card, lock or cancel any card instantly, and choose the billing address and cardholder name on each card. Fund your balance by debit/credit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, bank transfer, stablecoins, or crypto. Verification takes under 3 minutes with a passport or national ID. Outside the US? You don't need an SSN, a US address or a US bank account. Halocard cards are issued by Third National, a Non-Bank Principal Member of the Visa Network.

About US Unlocked

US Unlocked is a virtual card service for people who live outside the United States and want to pay US websites, app stores and streaming services that turn away foreign cards. It issues virtual Visa cards with a US billing address, which spend a US-dollar balance you load in advance. It is run by Tern Commerce, Inc., a US company that provides card-issuing technology, and says it was founded in 2010.

US Unlocked relaunched in July 2025 under a new cardholder agreement, by invitation at first, and announced its public launch in October 2025, when it said it had passed 250,000 users. An account costs $4.95 a month or $39.95 a year with one card included and up to 10 cards in total, and every load carries a fee. US Unlocked provides no US shipping address (it refers customers to freight forwarders), no physical card and no bank account, and its FAQ says US residents can't use it.

Halocard vs US Unlocked FAQ

What is the best US Unlocked alternative?
Halocard. Halocard is a US-issued Visa credit card for customers in the US and 120+ countries, with custom billing addresses, a separate card for each merchant, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and funding by debit/credit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, bank transfer, stablecoins, or crypto. Every friend you refer earns you $5 or more a month.
What is the difference between US Unlocked and Halocard?
Halocard is a US-issued Visa credit card for customers in the US and 120+ countries, with 3 to 60 cards included by plan and a physical card available. US Unlocked issues virtual Visa cards with a US billing address to people outside the US only, with one card included, a fee on every load and a $3,000 balance cap.
Is Halocard better than US Unlocked for US streaming and subscriptions?
For most people, yes. Each subscription gets its own Visa credit card with a billing address you choose and a daily, weekly or monthly limit, so one cancelled service never affects the others. US Unlocked's Store Locked Cards do a similar job, though recent reviewers report declines at streaming services, and each card after the first costs $1 a month.
Which has lower fees, US Unlocked or Halocard?
It depends on how you use it. US Unlocked has the lower monthly fee, $4.95, but adds a load fee of 2% to 5% + $1 on every top-up, $1 a month for each extra card and 3% on purchases in other currencies. Halocard charges a flat monthly plan from $12 with 3 cards and no fee on US-dollar purchases, and Essential is free with 3 referrals.
Can US residents use Halocard instead of US Unlocked?
Yes. Halocard is for customers in the US and 120+ countries. US Unlocked's FAQ says it is exclusively for people who live outside the US.
Which is better for shopping on US websites from abroad?
Halocard, for most shoppers. US-only checkouts look for a US-issued card and a matching billing address, and Halocard gives you a US-issued Visa credit card with an address you set on each card. US Unlocked's cards carry a US billing address too, and its site lists freight forwarders for shipping, but its terms warn that merchants that don't accept prepaid or virtual cards may decline them.
Is there a US Unlocked alternative with a physical card?
Yes, Halocard. You can add a physical card, free with any annual plan or $100 on a monthly plan, and every card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. US Unlocked's FAQ says all of its cards are virtual.
How do I switch from US Unlocked to Halocard?
Sign up for Halocard, verify in under 3 minutes and add funds. Make one card for each store or subscription, set its limit and billing address, and update the payment method at each merchant. Once a subscription bills to Halocard, deactivate its US Unlocked card; US Unlocked's terms let you request your remaining balance back for a $10 fee.
Does Halocard or US Unlocked work with Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Every Halocard can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay, and both wallets can top up your Halocard balance. US Unlocked takes Apple Pay and Google Pay as load methods, at 5% + $1 a load, and its October 2025 launch announcement says its cards are compatible with both wallets.
Does Halocard or US Unlocked work with cryptocurrency?
Both accept it as funding. Halocard takes stablecoins (USDC, USDT) and crypto (BTC, ETH, SOL) alongside card, phone wallet and bank transfer. US Unlocked charges 2% on crypto and stablecoin loads, and in some countries crypto is the only load method it offers.
Is Halocard a credit card or a prepaid card?
Halocard is a credit card: Halocard is a US-issued Visa credit card for customers in the US and 120+ countries. Halocard works like a debit card: you spend the balance you load, with no credit line and no credit check. That gives it better acceptance than prepaid cards at US merchants.
How can I get a US virtual card for free with Halocard?
Halocard's referral program can cover your plan: Essential is free with 3 referrals, and every friend you refer earns you $5 to $25 a month for every friend you refer, for up to 12 months.
How do I compare US virtual cards?
Focus on what affects whether you can pay: whether the card is a credit card or a prepaid card, whether you can sign up from where you live, the total of monthly, per-card and load fees, how reliably it works according to recent reviews, how easily you can fund it, and whether you can reach support when something breaks.

Sources

  • US Unlocked, pricing: usunlocked.com/pricing
  • US Unlocked, FAQs: usunlocked.com/faqs
  • US Unlocked, cardholder agreement: usunlocked.com/card-terms
  • US Unlocked, terms of service: usunlocked.com/terms-of-service
  • US Unlocked, countries: usunlocked.com/countries
  • US Unlocked, about us: usunlocked.com/about-us
  • US Unlocked, VPN: usunlocked.com/vpn
  • US Unlocked, freight forwarding partners: usunlocked.com/partners
  • US Unlocked, merchant-specific or single-use cards: usunlocked.com/merchant-specific-or-single-use-which-card-to-use
  • US Unlocked, US Unlocked vs Wise: usunlocked.com/us-unlocked-vs-wise
  • PYMNTS, US Unlocked global public launch announcement: pymnts.com/newswire-announcements/us-unlocked-announces-global-public-launch-of-its-usdc-backed-virtual-credit-card-platform
  • The Paypers, interview with the CEO of Tern: thepaypers.com/fintech/interviews/making-every-company-a-fintech-company-interview-with-tern
  • Trustpilot, US Unlocked reviews: trustpilot.com/review/usunlocked.com

Disclaimer

Based on public information as of October 2026 (see Sources above); US Unlocked's products, fees and terms may change, so check before you decide. Halocard publishes this page and makes one of the products compared, so verdicts and ticks are our opinion. US Unlocked and its product names and logos are trademarks of their owner, used only to identify its products; Halocard is not affiliated with or endorsed by US Unlocked. Not financial, legal or tax advice.

Get a Halocard in less than 5 minutes